MATLAB - Teaching Rigid Body Dynamics

Event Date: 
Sep 19, 2017 - 8:00am to 1:00pm

Teaching Rigid Body Dynamics – a combination of symbolic and numeric computing

Date: Sept. 19, 2017 • 8 a.m. CST

Session 1: 9 a.m. U.S. EDT/ 2 p.m. BST / 3 p.m. CEST

Session 2: 2 p.m. U.S. EDT / 7 p.m. BST/ 8 p.m. CEST

In this presentation, we’ll demonstrate how to use MATLAB to implement a Lagrangian dynamics approach for deriving equations of motion of rigid body systems. The proposed workflow incorporates tasks involving both symbolic and numeric computing – a natural combination that leads to deeper learning engagements with students. 

In the first half of this session, we’ll introduce the fundamental computing patterns that are needed in the derivations. In the second half of the session, these computing patterns are then applied to derive the equations of motion for a 4-LINK non-planar robotic manipulator.